Every Republican on Senate Judiciary Committee Voted against Renewing the Violence Against Women Act

After spending the last two years stripping away contraceptive and other reproductive rights, Republicans opened a new front on their war against women this week:

Protecting women from violence and abuse has been an issue of bipartisan cooperation since President Clinton signed the landmark Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) in 1994. It was reauthorized with overwhelming bipartisan support in 2000 and again in 2005. Not this year.

On Feb. 2, the Senate Judiciary Committee approved legislation (S. 1925) reauthorizing VAWA. The bill was sponsored by Chair Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) and Sen. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho) — who is not on the committee — and cosponsored by 34 senators from both parties. Nevertheless, the legislation attracted no GOP support among committee members and passed out of committee on a party-line vote of 10-8. It was, according to Leahy’s office, the first time VAWA legislation did not receive bipartisan backing out of committee.

The Republicans on the Senate Judiciary Committee are:

  • Chuck Grassley, Ranking Member, R-Iowa
  • Orrin G. Hatch, R-Utah
  • Jon Kyl, R-Arizona
  • Jeff Sessions, R-Alabama
  • Lindsey Graham, R-South Carolina
  • John Cornyn, R-Texas
  • Michael S. Lee, R-Utah
  • Tom Coburn, R-Oklahoma

One comment

  • Amada
    August 20, 2013 - 6:16 am | Permalink

    “This will protect too many victims.” ARE THESE PEOPLE INSANE????

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *